Mountain Stage

Tonight, Mountain Stage http://www.mountainstage.org/ 
is celebrating its 30th Anniversary with a show in Charleston at the Culture Center. This has encouraged me to reflect on the many artists I have had the great fortune of experiencing thanks to this show.

As a ute, I typically went to a show to see someone I’d heard of; nowadays, I like to go to as many shows as I possibly can to discover new (to me) music.

For a full list of artists who have played Mountain Stage, visit http://www.wvpbmedia.com/docs/ms/MS_Guest_Artist_List.pdf

I can’t recall every performance I’ve seen, but highlights include:

  • Toad The Wet Sprocket in support of their album Fear
  • R.E.M. in support of Out Of Time, on the same show as Robyn Hitchcock and Billy Bragg
  • Uncle Earl between the release of She Waits For Night and Waterloo, Tennessee (I think)
  • Sarah Borges on the same show as John Doe, Chuck Prophet and Zap Mama
  • Trombone Shorty & Orleans Avenue
  • Jessica Lea Mayfield
  • Carolina Chocolate Drops on the same show as Cherryholmes
  • The Mavericks, and more recent solo performances by Raul Malo
  • WPA
  • Amy LaVere
  • Ben Sollee
  • kd lang – several times
  • Black Joe Lewis & the Honeybears
  • Josh Rouse in support of Dressed Up Like Nebraska

I hadn’t heard of the majority of these artists ’til I saw them on Mountain Stage. Now, I own the entire music catalog of many of these performers. Some I appreciated much more live (Josh Rouse) but have since grown to appreciate their recorded music.

To get more out of Mountain Stage, listen to recent performances on NPR’s website at http://www.npr.org/search/index.php?searchinput=mountain+stage. If you don’t already have it, download the NPR Music app for your smartphone. This provides access to full sets by artists. Follow the show on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram … and go see some live music wherever you are!

P.S. If anyone with Mountain Stage happens across this, I’d really like to see Jill Barber, Valerie June and Matthew Good (in Charleston). Also, Toad The Wet Sprocket recently released a new album and it’s about time they returned to the mountains of WV.

**Ask and Ye Shall Receive Update: Valerie June is scheduled to be on Mountain Stage in Mo’town on February 9.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

