150 things (in no particular order) I dig about WV

I (Missy) developed this, a while back on Facebook and thought I’d post here in celebration of WV’s 150th today. Seeing this in print makes me realize I haven’t experienced even half of what WV has to offer. (And, yes, my list is Charleston heavy. I live in Charleston. This makes sense.) What’s on your list?

1. Driving (more preferably, passengering) US Route 60, Charleston to Sam Black Church

2. Diogi’s in Fayetteville http://diogismexicangrill.com/

3. Castle Halloween Museum in Benwood http://www.castlehalloween.com/

4. Mountain Stage live http://www.mountainstage.org/

5. Chemical Valley Rollergirls http://chemicalvalleyrollergirls.com/

6. Julio’s in Clarksburg http://www.roadfood.com/Restaurant/Overview/4319/julios

7. Weston State Hospital http://www.trans-alleghenylunaticasylum.com/

8. The view from my office – Huntington Bank Bldg, 12th floor, Looking South/East

9. Maggie’s Salsa and Queso http://www.maggiessalsa.com/

10. Lisa’s Condo at Canaan http://beaverridgeresort.com/

11. Lola’s http://lolaspizzawv.com/

12. Convertible Guy driving around downtown Charleston with the top down

13. Crazy Jane

14. State Capitol Building http://www.wvculture.org/agency/capitol.html

15. The Clay Center http://www.theclaycenter.org/

16. Walking around downtown, running into friends and acquaintances

17. Kanawha County Public Library http://www.kanawhalibrary.org/

18. Blackwater Falls http://www.blackwaterfalls.com/

19. Dinner and accommodations at the Bavarian Inn http://www.bavarianinnwv.com/

20. Treetops Canopy Tour http://www.newrivergorgecanopytour.com/site/adventures.html

21. WV Reads 150 http://www.librarycommission.wv.gov/programs/WVReads150/Pages/default.aspx

22. Bear Rocks Preserve http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bear_Rocks_Preserve

23. WV Museum of American Glass http://magwv.com/

24. “Oh, the hills, beautiful hills, how I love those West Virginia hills!”

25. WV Living Magazine http://www.wvliving.com/

26. Bloomery Plantation Distillery http://www.bloomeryplantation.com/

27. Gary Bowling’s House of Art https://www.facebook.com/pages/Gary-Bowlings-House-of-Art/133225843375348

28. Summersville Lake http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Summersville_Lake

29. Stonewall Resort http://www.stonewallresort.com/

30. The Mystery Hole http://www.mysteryhole.com/

31. Whipple Company Store http://www.whipplecompanystore.com/

32. Erma Byrd Gallery at UC http://www.ucwv.edu/AboutUC/Erma_Byrd_Art_Gallery.aspx

33. Hot Dog and Fries at Griffith & Feil Drugstore http://www.herald-dispatch.com/business/x1103456912/Griffith-and-Feil-continues-family-drug-store-tradition

34. Lost World Caverns http://www.lostworldcaverns.com/

35. Tamarack http://www.tamarackwv.com/

36. Taylor Books http://www.taylorbooks.com/

37. My home is no more than 15 minutes away from just about everywhere I need/want to go

38. Hawk’s Nest http://www.hawksnestsp.com/

39. Pies & Pints in Fayetteville, Charleston and Mo’town http://www.piesandpints.net/

40. Four Seasons Books in Shepardstown http://fourseasonsbooks.com/

41. FestivAll http://www.festivallcharleston.com/

42. Cocktails in/on The Fifth Floor https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Fifth-Floor/157020246133

43. Denise Giardina’s books http://wvcenterforthebook.lib.wv.us/In%20Their%20Own%20Country/denise_giardina.htm

44. Capitol Market http://capitolmarket.net/

45. Ruffner Memorial Park

46. Baristas Cafe & Pub in New Martinsville http://www.baristascafe-pub.com/Websites/page.aspx?page=About+Us

47. Fiesta Ware http://www.hlchina.com/

48. WV Symphony http://www.wvsymphony.org/

49. Rocco’s Ristorante in Ceredo http://roccosristorante.com/

50. Coonskin State Park http://www.kcprc.com/coonskin_park.htm

51. Wheeling Artisan Center http://www.artisancenter.com/

52. WV Hot Dogs (chili, slaw, mustard, onions) http://wvhotdogblog.blogspot.com/

53. Montani Semper Liberi

54. Hickory House in Jane Lew https://www.facebook.com/pages/Hickory-House-Restaurant/106719385169

55. Kaymoor Trail http://www.nps.gov/neri/planyourvisit/fayetteville_trails.htm

56. Danny Boyd’s Chillers http://danielboyd.com/wordpress/chillers

57. The Greenbrier http://www.greenbrier.com/

58. Otter & Oak in Hinton http://otterandoak.com/

59. Shepardstown http://shepherdstownvisitorscenter.com/

60. Bramwell Oktoberfest http://www.bramwelloktoberfest.com/

61. trompe l’oeil mural at One Bridge Place, north side of South Side Bridge

62. Keith-Albee Theater http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Keith-Albee_Theatre

63. Ice Mountain http://www.historichampshire.org/scenic/icemt.htm

64. David Riffle’s art http://www.avampatoart.com/gallery.php?artist=Riffle%2C+David

65. We’re no longer part of Virginia (some of their politicians seem to hate women – see vaginal probes … alas, since this list was developed it turns out WV’s AG hates females, too)

66. Marx Toy Museum http://www.marxtoymuseum.com/

67. Thyme Bistro in Weston https://www.facebook.com/pages/Thyme-Bistro/108895069134438

68. Live on the Levee http://liveontheleveecharleston.com/

69. That moonshine Kevin gave Rick

70. Audra State Park http://www.audrastatepark.com/

71. Blue Smoke Salsa https://www.bluesmokesalsa.com/

72. Blenko Glass http://blenko.com/

73. Whitewater Rafting http://adventurewestvirginia.com/vacations/aotg/west-virginia-whitewater-rafting/

74. The Grill on Charleston’s convenient West Side

75. “Country Roads”

76. Shopping, dining and hanging out on Lewisburg’s main street http://www.downtownlewisburg.com/

77. Windmills on ridge near Canaan Valley http://www.wvpics.com/Thomas%20Wind%20Turbine.htm

78. Pepperoni Rolls, especially when made by Rebecca or Sue

79. Coal Barges (a visitor from NYC had nver seen one before which created a new perspective for me)

80. Seneca Rocks http://en.wikipedia.org/?title=Seneca_Rocks

81. Vandalia Festival http://www.wvculture.org/vandalia/vanmusic.html

82. State Parks V.I.P.P. Program http://www.wvstateparks.com/community/vipp.htm

83. Live Music at The Purple Fiddle in Thomas http://www.purplefiddle.com/

84. Sirianni’s Pizza in Davis http://forkyou.wordpress.com/2008/07/02/siriannis/

85. Glen Ferris Inn/Falls http://www.glenferrisinn.com/

86. State Museum in the Culture Center http://www.wvculture.org/museum/index-museumhome.aspx

87. Sistersville http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sistersville,_West_Virginia

88. Dining at Edgewood Country Club http://www.edgewoodcc.com/

89. Appalachian Power Park http://www.milb.com/team1/page.jsp?ymd=20090206&content_id=506125&vkey=team1_t525&fext=.jsp&sid=t525

90. Prabhupada’s Palace of Gold http://palaceofgold.com/

91. Chicken ‘n’ Dumplings at The Surrey House in Chapmanville

92. Wind Fest at Canaan http://www.wv.gov/news/Pages/Kites,WalksandMountainAirGreetVisitorstoCanaanValleyJuly6-8.aspx

93. My Felt Purse by WV artist Emily Roles http://media-cache-ec2.pinterest.com/upload/174866398001939596_Z6UwIIOL.jpg

94. Quilt Trails http://www.wvcommerce.org/info/wvmagazine/genuinewv2010/realworldclassrooms/quiltconnections/quilttrails.aspx

95. Smooth Ambler Distillery Tour http://www.smoothambler.com/

96. Do The Charleston Board Game

97. Philippi Covered Bridge http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Philippi_Covered_Bridge

98. Craik-Patton House http://www.westvirginiabeautiful.com/wv3/craik-patton-house-charleston-wv.html

99. Panorama at the Peak http://panoramaatthepeak.com/

100. WV State Penitentiary http://www.wvpentours.com/

101. Bridge Road Shops http://bridgeroad.org/

102. Ada “Bricktop” Smith http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ada_%22Bricktop%22_Smith

103. Camden Park http://www.camdenpark.com/

104. WV Free http://www.wvfree.org/

105. My West Virginia scarf purchased for $1 in Summersville http://media-cache-ec3.pinterest.com/upload/174866398002550072_0bAkwkKC.jpg

106. Babcock Gristmill http://www.babcocksp.com/

107. Art and glass reimagined by Chris Dutch and Robin Hammer http://www.dutchhammer.com/index.htm

108. The Shape of Our State (some of those states out west are just rectangles – bo.ring)

109. Motley Mutton on Etsy.com http://www.etsy.com/shop/motleymutton

110. Ye Olde Alpha http://yeoldealpha.com/

111. New River Gorge Bridge http://www.nps.gov/neri/planyourvisit/nrgbridge.htm

112. WV Coalition Against Domestic Violence http://www.wvcadv.org/

113. Lower Greenbrier River Byway http://www.wvcommerce.org/travel/gettinghere/wvbyways/newgreenbrier.aspx

114. Mountain State Brewing http://mountainstatebrewing.com/

115. Whitegrass Cookbook http://www.whitegrass.com/cafe.html

116. Mountaineer Days in Thomas http://thomaswvmtdays.weebly.com/information.html

117. Oglebay Museum http://www.oionline.com/

118. King Tut Drive-In http://www.kingtutdrivein.com/

119. The Southern WV Photovoice Project http://wvphotovoice.org/

120. That one time when R.E.M., Billy Bragg & Robyn Hitchcock played Mountain Stage at the Capitol Theater

121. The Bike Rack at Piedmont Elementary http://wvgazette.com/News/201106091247

122. Mountain State Arts & Craft Fair at Ripley http://www.msacf.com/

123. Adrenaline (Gravity zipline) http://www.adventurewestvirginia.com/site/zip-lines/gravity-zip-line.html

124. Bluegrass Kitchen http://bluegrasswv.com/

125. Sunrise Mansion http://www.wvencyclopedia.org/articles/640

126. WV South Magazine http://www.wvsouth.com/

127. Charleston’s Historic East End Houses http://www.wvencyclopedia.org/exhibits/23?section=21

128. Mothman http://mothmanmuseum.com/

129. Kanawha State Forest http://www.kanawhastateforest.com/

130. Smokey Ray’s in Philippi http://www.wvcommerce.org/travel/travelplanner/destination/Smokey-Rays/4854/default.aspx

131. Springhill Cemetery http://www.cityofcharleston.org/government/city-departments/spring-hill-cemetery

132. Mortar Man on Capitol Street https://www.facebook.com/MortarManWV

133. Cranberry Glades http://www.pocahontascountywv.com/cranberry_glades.aspx

134. Missing: Mrs. Cornblossom by Colleen Anderson http://colleenanderson.com/index.html

135. Bridge Brew Works http://www.bridgebrewworks.com/

136. Philippi Mummies, in the bathroom of the museum http://www.roadsideamerica.com/story/2930

137. Antiquing in South Charleston http://www.southcharlestonantiquemall.com/

138. WV Pride Festivities http://www.pridewv.org/

139. WV International Film Festival http://www.wviff.org/

140. Cafe Cimino http://www.cafeciminocountryinn.com/

141. Kanawha Charleston Humane Association – where I adopted Banjo & Possum (!) http://www.wvanimalshelter.com/

142. Meat Night at the Red Carpet http://www.redcarpetloungewv.com/

143. ArtWalk https://www.facebook.com/CharlestonArtWalk

144. Three Rivers Avian Center http://www.tracwv.org/

145. Get togethers, with many wonderful women over fabulous food, at Barbara’s Home

146. We typically get to experience all four seasons

147. Covenant House http://www.covenanthouse.org/

148. Quirky Finds at Collage, The Purple Moon and Stray Dog Antiques https://www.facebook.com/collageartshop, http://thepurplemoon.com/, http://straydogantiques.com/

149. Glenwood Mansion http://www.marshall.edu/wpmu/graduatehumanities/the-glenwood-project/

150. Family And Friends

Since developing this, I would add:
–  La Famiglia restaurant in Huntington
– recently read books, including: Crapalachia by Scott McClanahan, Beauty Before Comfort by Alison Glock, Rocket Boys by Homer Hickam, Crum and Screaming With The Cannibals by Lee Maynard, Out of the Mountains: Appalachian Stories by Meredith Sue Willis

This entry was posted in WV Dining, WV Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 150 things (in no particular order) I dig about WV

  1. motherwit says:

    I am thrilled that you consider my book one of your 150 best things! Happy Birthday, West Virginia!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s