Hometown Market (Buckhannon)

Let me get this out of the way, I liked the Hometown Market as an interesting place. I’m just not sure I would list it as a restaurant.

HM is tucked back near WV Wesleyan in a coverted house:

pictures 067

The market is a market first with a little soup and sandwich counter in the back and a side room that seats 7 or 8 for lunch. I visited a year ago, so I have no pictures of my corn chowder. But I’m still using some of the spices I purchased there. The market features organic and locally-grown products, including an interesting array of allergy-sensitive products (gluten-free, nut-free, and the like).

Is it Unique?

Not really. Like I said, it was good soup, and if I went to Wesleyan I would eat there. But, I can’t recommend that someone go looking for it as a lunch stop. On the other hand, it is worth a trip to check out their pantry items and spices. Perhaps we can compromise and say it is a unique place to shop, but not a unique place to dine?

This entry was posted in WV Dining and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

